Have you heard about the LEED Certification? Constructing “green buildings”

The LEED Certification corresponds to the acronym in English “Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design” and, as its name indicates, it is an evaluation method that qualifies any type of building according to environmental and sustainability criteria.

It deals with a standard international seal of recognized prestige. Implemented in 1993 in the U.S., since that time it has been used in a generalized manner in countries throughout the world to categorize a building’s sustainability, stimulate energy efficiency and low environmental cost of constructions.

This certificate is of completely voluntary use and the final evaluation is done by the GBCI, an independent association that drives the implementation of sustainable practices in the design and construction of buildings.


What does the LEED Certification analyze?

With this certificate, it is possible to evaluate all types of buildings, dwellings, offices, premises, educational centers, commercial centers or hotels, whether of new construction or renovations of already existing buildings.

To obtain it, it is very important for the design strategies and sustainable construction to be incorporated from the start of the project. Only in this way is it possible to meet with requirements of the LEED standard. Once the work is finished, all the evidence of the fulfilment of the analysis parameters are sent to the GBCI. The strategies are grouped in 8 established criteria:

  1. Location and Transportation = 16 points
  2. Sustainable sites = 10 points
  3. Efficient use of water = 10 points
  4. Energy and atmosphere = 35 points
  5. Materials and Resources = 14 points
  6. Indoor Environmental Quality = 15 points
  7. Design innovation = 6 points
  8. Regional priority = 4 points

Each project, therefore, can achieve a total of 110 points and, according to the score obtained, the building will have one certification level or another:

  • 40 to 49 points = LEED Certified
  • 50 to 59 points = LEED Silver Certificate
  • 60 to 79 points = LEED Gold Certificate
  • 80 or more points = LEED Platinum Certificate



In addition, there are different evaluation systems, depending on the use and complexity of the project, which are constantly renewed and updated with the desire for continuous improvement and standardization of the “green buildings.”

Currently, we can categorize the projects in the following systems:

  • Building Design and Construction:
    Buildings of new construction or that are going through a major renovation, both external and internal.
  • Interior Design and Construction:
    Projects that have a complete interior restructuring.
  • Building Operations and Maintenance:
    Existing buildings that are in the process of improvement.
  • Neighborhood Development:
    New projects of land development and reurbanization projects that contain residential uses, non-residential uses or mixed.
  • Homes:
    Single-family houses, residential buildings of few stories (1-3 floors) or medium-height multifamily buildings (4-6 floors).

This independent mechanism of evaluation provides the owners economic benefits and savings, emission reduction and improvements in comfort, health and productivity of their occupants. Furthermore, it is used in advertising, because it provides higher rates of leasing.


Alting, commitment with a sustainable future

From Alting we work for a better future and we are committed to sustainable development.

Currently the Promotions department is immersed in the development of the project of the building Diagonal, 371. The technical plan includes the latest innovations and the best finishes and equipment on the market, with the objective of converting D371 in an energy-efficient and environmentally responsible building, and obtain in this way the LEED GOLD certification.

Privacy Preferences
When you visit our website, it may store information through your browser from specific services, usually in form of cookies. Here you can change your privacy preferences. Please note that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience on our website and the services we offer.